Annual Awards Ceremony 2016

Annual Awards Ceremony 2016

On Tuesday last the Academy celebrated a very special Day in the calendar of the school year. Recognising the academic, social, cultural, sporting and professional talents of the students. Mr. Niall Hartnett, Human Resource director with the Barry Group Mallow and guest speaker at the ceremony addressed the assembled school on the importance of having qualifications. He also reminded those assembled that further education can be life long and advised that Students should choose to study what interests them as it as it makes the task of acquiring further education more enjoyable and engaging. The students of the year were as follows – Tom O’Callaghan (1st year), Jack Tobin (2nd year), Billy Bohan (3rd year) and Alan Murphy (5th year). Taking the award for the Resource 1 was Andrew Humphries, while Kevin Mullins and Aaron Gould took the awards for ”Cuan” and ”Naomh Padraig” classes respectively. The Junior Community spirit winner was David Palmer (2nd year), while the senior award winner was Aaron Talbot (5th year). The junior literary award winner was Finnian Daly (1st year) and the senior winners were 2016 Proclamation authors Ruairi Ganley, Bill Gaine & Kevin Sexton (5th year). The junior sports award was presented to Alan Culligan (1st year) and the senior sports award went to Chris Taylor (5ht year). Amal Jaimon (1st year) attained the music award while the art award went to Cathal O’Brien (3rd year). The Academic Achievement at Junior Cycle went to James O’Hanlon (4th year) while immediate past pupil Killian Murphy was awarded the Senior Academic award for results attained in the Leaving Certificate 2015. Also recognised were the members of the Student Council, the 5th year Mentors, the John Paul II Community award winners as well as all students who have maintained full school attendance this year. The Coordinator of the ceremony Ms. Anne O’Callaghan thanked guest speaker Mr. Niall Hartnett for attending the ceremony. She also thanked Ms. Sinead Corkery, Bank Of Ireland for sponsoring and presenting the community spirit awards & the Sports awards. Principal Ms. Fitzpatrick brought the ceremony to a close thanking all present and congratulating all award nominees and recipients.

5th Year, Year Head Mr. O’Gorman with nominees for Student of the Year Ruairi Ganley, Sean Clarke and winner Alan Murphy (on right)

Mr. Niall Hartnett, HR Director with Barry Group presenting award to Billy Bohan, 3rd Year Student of the Year.

First Year Student of the Year Tom O’Callaghan

Aaron Gould- ”Naomh Padraig” Student of the Year

Ms. Sinead Corkery Bank Of Ireland Mallow presenting Junior Community Spirit Award to David Pamler. Also in photo fellow nominee Eoghan Kenny

Aaron Talbot Senior Community Spirit Award winner

Senior Literary Award winners with Mr, Niall Hartnett and teacher Mr. Foley

Junior Sports award winner Alan Culligan (centre) with fellow nominees.

Senior Sport Award winner Chris Taylor

James O’Hanlon Junior Certificate Academic Award winner

Mr. Dave Morley, Attendance Officer with Attendance award winners

Members of the Senior Student Council

Padraig O’Driscoll Student Council Student of the Year

Killian Murphy Senior Academic award with Principal Ms. Fitzpatrick, Chairperson of the Board of Management Mr. Tod Kirby and Mr. Niall Hartnett